A song to surf to

Only one more month until I’m able to bring the surfboard to the beach! I’m so excited to surf in somewhat warm weather! In-order for me to get in the mood for the surf season, I listened to the Rip Chords song, “Hot Rod U.S.A.”.

There’s only one more month till I’ll be able to bring the surf board out of my house and go to the beach. To get in the mood for the season, I listened to the Rip Chords song, “Hot Rod U.S.A.”

ripchords

In California in the 1960s Phil Stewart and Ernie Bringas had originally formed the group/duo, The Opposites. They eventually had Columbia Producer, Terry Melcher, and co-producer, Bruce Johnston (former member of the band, The Beach Boys) to become the Rip Chords. The Rip Chords music fell into the “hot-rod” and surf music genre which I found it interesting that there was even a genre called “surf genre.” Their first single that the Chords released was, “Here I Stand,” in 1963. The group wanted to add a California touch to their music to make it more personal.

I enjoy listening to old music with this type of beat and lyrics in the car when I drive to the beach to go surfing. You can tell that 100% there is a California touch to the music.

Surf on,

A

 

 

Leave a Reply

