Andrew Belle

For people who haven’t heard of the 31 year-old singer and songwriter, Andrew Belle, I advise you start listening to his music. Belle is from Chicago, IL and has self-released two EPs, All Those Pretty Lights and The Daylight and two albums, Ladder in 2010 and Black Bear in 2013. In 2009, Belle received numerous nominations and awards:

  • John Lennon Pop-Songwriting
  • MTV Chicago’s Best Breakout Artist
  • The Ladder was acknowledged by iTunes as a part of their Rewind: Best of 2010 list.
  • His songs have also been featured in numerous movies and films.

He has been traveling and performing with with friends such as Katie Herzig, Greg Laswell, Ben Rector, Madi Diaz, The Milk Carton Kids, and is thrilled to be a part of the critically acclaimed national touring group Ten Out Of Tenn.

What is your process when you are writing a new song and album?

Typically my process involves a lot of random exploration in the beginning and then it’s a process of refining and trimming it down from there. Usually things start with a drum beat and then I begin playing chords on my keyboard and humming melody ideas until something clicks. Once I latch onto a melody I like or a certain word or phrase; I will then begin the process of shaping it into something meaningful. A lot of times I won’t know what I’m really writing about or trying to say until very late in the process – I’ve sort of learned to let the song go where it will rather than coming at it with a preconceived idea of what it will be about. Sort of like chipping away at a sculpture – I have some idea what it will be turned into but it’s usually looks very different than what I imagined in the beginning.

What was your reaction when you watched the Grey’s Anatomy episode (season 6, episode 24) with your song, “In My Veins?”

I remember I had just gotten home from tour and had the episode saved on our DVR. It took me three tries to watch it because it was such an intense episode. But in the end I was really proud and honored to be included in such an iconic show. When I was younger I remember discovering a lot of great new artists through the show and thought it would be such a thrill to be included on it one day. I’m not sure if I believed I ever really would be but I sure am glad that I was!

Are you working on any new music?

Right now I am wrapping up the recording of my third full length album. Everyone always says this but I’m more excited about this batch of songs than anything I’ve done so far. My hope is to release a few of them this summer and then the full length in early 2017.

What musical influences do you use when composing music?

Lately it’s been a lot of alternative and electronic artists. To name a few; Sylvan Esso, Future Islands, Beach House, Washed Out, James Blake. My music is, generally speaking, pop music – but I listen to music that’s a little left of center to remind me to think outside of the box and explore the boundaries of what it means to be a singer-songwriter.

AB 1.jpg

Who inspired you to write music?

I discovered writing in college after getting really into a band called brand new. I saw them live in Chicago and all I wanted to do was write like Jesse Lacey. So that was the original influence – him and Adam Duritz. I discovered through them what clever and honest songwriting was and I’ve tried to apply that to my own writing ever since.

Keep on rockin’ Andrew! Hope to see you soon!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

