V is for VÉRITÉ

c8e6b055-55bd-4d38-99ce-594555495b66

New York native, VÉRITÉ, is currently on tour and making her way up the charts. VÉRITÉ made her debut EP album, Echo, in 2014, which took her two years to complete. This led her to being one of SPIN’s one of five new artists to watch. Her song, “Strange Enough,” was featured on Buzzfeed as one of the best songs of the summer. VÉRITÉ has been working with producers, Stefan Graslund, Tim Anderson, Zach Nicita, and more. She recently released, Living, which features some of her most popular songs, “Undressed” and “Rest.”

“This New York singer turned heads with her throbbing electro-pop- minded songs.” – SPIN

“One of the best artists in alt-pop” – Buzzfeed

She has been on tour since May 15th and will be coming to an end tomorrow in California. I was able to talk to her about her music and tour briefly.

I love your sound and music! It has such a good vibe! Why don’t you tell me how your career started.

Thank you! I’ve always played piano and performed. I think I had a very gradual process of growing into myself as a person and an artist. I’ve embraced the slow build mentality.

You’re about to go on tour with Lostboycrow! I’m sure you’re excited 🙂 Is this your first tour? What are you looking most forward too? I also love the name of your tour, Underdressed. Why did you name it this?

Underdressed fit best as a tour name and was the first track I released off the EP, so it seemed appropriate. This is my second headline tour. Definitely looking forward to exploring the pacific north west and seeing cities I haven’t seen before.

Your new EP, Living, just came out! Congrats! How long did it take you to complete and what was your process?

It took a total of around six months to fully complete. The writing process was me bringing song ideas to various producers and experimenting with sounds and arrangements.

When you wrote this EP, what were a majority of the songs about?

The songs are about expanding on small moments; magnifying and distorting them until they are unrecognizable and hyper analyzed.

What personal advice would you give to someone wanting to pursue this career as a musician?

Hustle and fund yourself. Treat it like a small business. People are more capable than they give themselves credit for.

Keep on rockin’! Hope to see you soon!

Leave a Reply

