Bryce Vine

 

bryce-img_1691hdr-edit-4x3-jpg-620x420

Indie rapper, Bryce Vine, has begun to make a name for himself. Vine was born and raised in New York City by his single mother and they both eventually moved to L.A. Vine’s mother got a role on the show, Passions. At the age of 10, Vine was watching a guy on T.V sing and play his guitar and decided that he wanted to do something like that. Vine said, “As I was watching it I was like I want to be able to do that. I didn’t really know what I was going to do with it or wanted to do. I just wanted to have the options to do that kind of thing. I wanted to do those things. Play the guitar, sing songs, all that stuff. I taught myself how to play the guitar when I got one for my tenth birthday. I started doing that, kind of started to write all of my own songs, and recorded things that I had, in my garage.”

When he was thirteen he truly knew that he wanted to do music. In high school Vine played in a pop-punk band with a kid in his journalism class and met two other people he played music with for all four years. He auditioned at Berklee College of Music and landed a scholarship to attend. Vine was able to meet his DJ, Skizz Marquee and producer, Nolan Lambroza (“Sir Nolan”).

Vine released his EP, Lazy Fair, in 2014 and then released, Night Circus, in 2016. Vine has been playing shows all over the states and has some new things to look out for this summer. I was able to talk to Vine about his experience working with G-Eazy, his song, “Glamorama,” and more!

You worked with G-Eazy and produced the song, “Coming Home.” How was your experience working with him?

Great! I mean He’s an interesting guy. We worked on a song together but he’s all over the place now. I just remember that we played a show together in like 2010 with my old group. We were playing a show in Boston and it was crazy because nobody showed up at all. We still played the show basically for the bartender. He’s been working for a long time though.

My favorite song by you is, “Glamorama.” What’s it about and what inspired you to write this?

It’s about a girl who lives in L.A and she comes first and everyone else comes second. She has no interest in living a normal life. She has a lot of courage, love, and she just wants to have fun and be beautiful and younger for her whole life. It’s about an ex-girlfriend. This was actually the first album were I wrote songs about my relationships. I was in a relationship last year for a little bit and when it was over it actually messed me up for a little while. It hurt me for the first time because it was the first time I was actually with somebody. When it was over I was like, “What the hell just happened?” It’s crazy, it just ended.

What’s your process when writing songs?

I really wish I could say there was a process. It’s always different and it always takes me a different amount of time to write songs. Sometimes I’ll have an idea in my head when I’m driving in the car and then I record a voicemail and I’ll play it later. I’ll start writing with that idea and I’ll build a basic beat and record it on my computer. I’ll give it to the engineers and the producer that I work with. They’ll make it sound like it wasn’t complete shit.

Or there will be a beat already made and I’ll start writing. It can take me minutes or months but I can’t ever force something that’s not happening and that’s something that can get frustrating. It does get frustrating. Like my manager will be like, “Yo. Finish that one song.” I’ll be like, “Yo. I haven’t already.” I just haven’t found the right stuff to say.

Do you enjoy working with people or by yourself? Is it easier working with people?

Working with people is great but I usually write it on my own. It’s definitely not easier to write it by yourself, it’s much harder. I haven’t met anybody that has the same mind-set or my type of lyrics. I like my producer, Tom, and this other guy, but other than that it’s hard to find someone who understands what I’m trying to do with my sound. Especially since it’s always changing. I’ll write something like, “Glamorama,” and then “Freight Train,” and then “Bang-Bang.” It’s really hard to find someone who listens to all the types of music I listen too or willing to experiment. I’m always trying to come up with different stuff.

Most rappers will write raps, that’s what that do and punk-rock musicians will write punk-rock, etc… When I’m trying to mix all these things together, there’s not going to be some person that I can go to the studio to write with me that will easily get it. Most of the time I find that if I try to write with somebody else I end up going back and doing it by myself anyways.

What drives you to produce music?

The finished product. Getting a good song is a whole number for the first time and getting to enjoy it before I tired of it. Once I get tired of it, I get to play it front of people for the who know the lyrics, it feels like the first time I ever heard the song. It’s a whole different experience.

When you’re not on the road or playing shows, how much time do you spend in the studio?

Most days I’ll try to go there and hang out, even if I’m not writing the whole time. Just to be there makes it helpful and if I’m not I won’t do work. I’ll forget to write but if most days I’m hanging out there and ideas can start flowing and I can go into a room and start writing. Yeah….

How the tour/shows going?

It’s great! When I’m not playing shows, I’m working, so that’s always good. I’m always like having something to look forward too. It feels like the wheels are turning and it’s good. I have a lot to look forward to this summer and were actually on road trip to Montana and Wyoming. We’re shooting a music video for one of my songs and I’ll put that out this summer. We only have three days to film so it shouldn’t take long.

What else will you do this summer?

Well I planned a trip to go to Paris, Amsterdam, Barcelona, and Budapest, for the end of June. I was just going to go by myself and do that whole thing. This is the first time in my life were I’ve actually had money. It’s always something I wanted to, back-pack around Europe. I was actually going to wait for a friend who was available to go do it, but all of us work. I just booked the trip to do it on my own. It looks like I have to put it off but there’s something else that’s getting in the way. It’s a good thing. I can’t say it yet. I just might have to put it off for later this summer.

Keep on rockin Bryce! See you on June 10 in Boston!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

