Torches

1e43f621-5e9f-4e1e-a2ad-5b9009a5c897

Young indie duo, Azad Cheikosman (singer, guitar synth, programming, and loops) and Eric Fabbro (drums, vocals, and percussion), have been making there way up the charts. Torches are currently making their music and living in California. In 2012, Torches released their first album, Heads Full of Rust, and in 2014 Torches released their EP, Endlessly Repeating. This year Torches released their most popular singles, “Future” and “Tongues.”

They have played with some of my favorite bands such as, The Drums, Wild Nothing, Atlas Genius, Peace, and more. This summer you will finally be able to listen to their EP! I was able to talk to Cheikosman about their music and their future.

I love your music first off! Now, I always ask the artist’s I interview to tell me a little biography about them and what really drove them to create music, etc….

Back in middle school I had a group of friends who were (sorta) into playing guitar.  I was quite fascinated by the instrument as it was something tangible and another outlet for me. My friends would play here and there, but for the most part their instruments would end up unused, laying against a wall…which really was an open opportunity for me to try and play guitar. My uncle is a fantastic guitar player and he definitely had some influence on where I am now as a musician. He’s given me a lot of gear over the years and has probably lent me equipment that I never gave back (laughs).

I know you’re working on new music! When do you think will be able to release it? What’s the record mostly about, song/lyric wise?

There’s a lot of new material, which is very exciting. It’s hard to say when it will be done. I had this plan to have a new EP finished earlier this month, but everything changed when I realized I started to write better songs. I work from home now, so I have all the time in the world……but it’s also easy to get fixated on things!

The new songs are about love, death, accepting defeat, images from dreams, my relationships with people. These new songs are a lot more transparent lyric-wise. At some point I realized that music is a language by way of communicating with others on a larger level…and if people connect with my music then that’s more than I could ever ask for.

Of all the words in the world, why did you chose “Torches?”

Torches is sort of this embodiment of something beautiful, yet dark. I’m not sure that I fully thought it through at the time, but now I’ve discovered that it’s about balance.

How has your music evolved since you first began playing music together?

Eric & I grew up playing rock music, whereas now we gravitate more towards pop, electronic music, funk, disco, hip hop etc. I’d say it’s a logical progression for me seeing as I’ve had a guitar behind my back for so many years. Our newer music thrives more on keyboards and use of drum machines. There’s still a healthy hybrid of acoustic and synthesized instruments.

When I was younger I invested more time on the instrumentation. Now I focus more on the melody and the beat. I’ve always loved instrumental music, but you can say a lot with the right vocal arrangement and melody. Our two recent singles, ‘Tongues’ & ‘Future’ mark a shift in our sound. It’s a shift towards pop, and having an honest delivery. The newer material (yet to be released) continues to evolve.

What will you be doing this summer?

I’d like to travel and take a break from the madness that is recording! Other than that I’ll continue to write and record our new record. I’ve also acquired new gear, so I have a lot to toy with. Maybe some one off shows in Cali!

Keep on rockin’ guys! Hope to see you in Boston!

 

Leave a Reply

